Verification record
Capital Index review
The entity behind Capital Index, its licence, and how to confirm both yourself.
Last checked
Capital Index is a real firm and not an outright scam, though enough is unverified here that we would want the gaps closed before recommending it. Regulated by Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), FRN 709693, offering MetaTrader 4.
Our rating
One rating, identical across our sites - only the way it is shown changes. It averages six assessments: regulation, trading costs, platforms, markets, support and education.
Regulation and safety
- Regulated by
- Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), FRN 709693
- Regulator tier
- Tier 1
- Register entry
- FCA Financial Services Register, FRN 709693
- Client money segregated
- Yes
- Held at
- Approved banking institutions; specific bank not publicly disclosed
- Negative balance protection
- Yes, UK retail clients
- Compensation scheme
- FSCS, up to £85,000 for eligible claims
- Audited by
- Independent statutory auditor
- Not available to
- United States and jurisdictions where distribution/use would violate local law
A licence is the first thing a fake broker cannot produce, so it is the first thing to check.
Capital Index holds a tier-one authorisation from FCA. That matters more than any headline spread: it determines your leverage cap, whether losses can exceed your deposit, and what happens to your money if the firm fails.
The FCA caps retail leverage at 1:30, mandates negative balance protection, and covers eligible clients under the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.
Check the licence yourself: the FCA Register.
The company behind the brand
- Legal entity
- Capital Index (UK) Limited
- Company number
- 09532185
- Headquarters
- London, United Kingdom
- Founded
- 2014
- Publicly listed
- No
- Parent company
- Capital Index Group
- Employees
- Approx. 10-50
- Also trades as
- Capital Index; transitioning/rebranded as Vantos Markets
Deposits and withdrawals
- Deposit methods
- Debit/credit card, bank transfer
- Withdrawal methods
- Bank transfer, cards where applicable
- Deposit time
- Cards generally immediate; bank transfer typically 1-3 business days
- Withdrawal time
- Typically several business days depending on method
- Minimum withdrawal
- Not currently published consistently
- Local payment methods
- UK bank transfer
What it costs to trade
- Spread from
- 1.0 pip
- EUR/USD spread
- Not reliably published currently
- GBP/USD spread
- Not reliably published currently
- Commission
- Generally $0 on standard pricing; certain markets/professional arrangements commission-based
- All-in cost, EUR/USD
- Not reliably published currently
- Spread type
- Variable
- Overnight swap
- Both: overnight financing may be charged or credited
- Inactivity fee
- Account terms dependent
- Deposit fee
- Method-dependent
- Withdrawal fee
- Method-dependent
- Currency conversion
- Yes
Costs matter less than whether you can withdraw, but an offer that looks impossible usually is.
Spreads from 1.0 pip suggest an all-in account, where the broker's fee is built into the price rather than charged separately. There is usually no commission on top, which makes the cost easier to predict.
Quoted spreads are best-case figures on the most liquid pair, in normal conditions. What you actually pay widens around news and at the session open.
Capital Index lists a minimum deposit of $0. Treat it as the cost of opening an account, not the cost of trading one - position sizing on a small balance is what tends to cause damage.
Accounts
- Minimum deposit
- $0
- Account types
- CFD, Spread Betting, Professional, Demo
- Account currencies
- GBP primarily, additional currencies depending on account
- Islamic account
- No
- Demo account
- Yes
- Professional account
- Yes
- Minimum trade size
- Instrument-dependent
- Time to open
- Typically within 1 business day subject to verification
Markets and execution
- Markets
- Forex, Indices, Commodities, Shares, Fixed Income
- Currency pairs
- 50+
- Total instruments
- Hundreds
- Crypto CFDs
- Restricted for UK retail clients
- Maximum leverage
- 1:30
- Execution model
- Market maker / principal
- Execution speed
- Not publicly disclosed
- Order types
- Market, limit, stop, stop-loss, take-profit and MetaTrader pending orders
- Servers
- Institutional trading infrastructure
Leverage is capped at 1:30, which is the retail limit under tier-one regulation. It is a protection rather than a restriction: it caps how quickly a position can move against your balance.
Capital Index covers forex, indices, commodities, shares, fixed income. A wider range matters less than depth in the instruments you actually trade.
Funding options: debit/credit card, bank transfer. Check withdrawal routes as well as deposit ones - they are often not the same, and the difference only becomes apparent when you try to take money out.
Platforms and tools
- Platforms
- MetaTrader 4
- Own platform
- No
- Mobile app
- Third-party MetaTrader
- Browser trading
- Yes
- Automated trading
- Yes
- Copy trading
- Yes, MarketBOOK/Signal Centre functionality
- Indicators
- 30+ MT4 indicators plus custom indicators
- Third-party tools
- MetaTrader 4, MarketBOOK, Signal Centre
- API access
- Not standard for retail accounts
MetaTrader 4 remains the most widely supported platform for expert advisors. If you rely on an existing EA, this is usually the deciding factor.
Support and education
- Support hours
- 24/5 trading-week coverage
- Contact channels
- Live chat, email, telephone
- Languages
- Primarily English
- Telephone
- +44 20 7060 5120
- support@capitalindex.com
- Live chat response
- Typically within minutes
- Education
- Extensive: trading education, webinars, platform guides, MarketBOOK and educational content
- Research
- Market analysis, weekly outlooks, technical/fundamental commentary, Signal Centre and MarketBOOK
Information is regularly updated. Last compiled from Capital Index's own website on 26 August 2026.
Questions people ask about Capital Index
Is Capital Index a real registered company?
Yes. At Capital Index, the company you would be contracting with is Capital Index (UK) Limited, registered as 09532185 and based in London, United Kingdom. A registration number is checkable in the register of the country that issued it, and a broker that will not give you one is telling you something.
Is Capital Index regulated, and by whom?
Capital Index holds Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), FRN 709693, which we grade as tier 1. A licence number is the part worth checking, because it is the thing a cloned site copies and the thing the regulator's register will not confirm.
Does Capital Index trade under any other names?
Capital Index also appears as Capital Index and transitioning/rebranded as Vantos Markets. This matters when you are checking a licence or a warning list, because a search for one name will not always find what was published about another.